Long summer evenings

This is my first time on the forum so feeling a little nervous. My husband died 20 months ago and I miss him all the time. However it has seemed particularly bad during this sunny patch when the evenings are long and warm. I would so love to have David here to go for a walk with instead of always having to arrange something with someone. I’m fed up of trying to explain the deep loneliness that is with me24 /7. It’s pointless to try to most people who haven’t lost a partner because they can never know. I appreciate that as I know didn’t understand either until I was in that position. I try to keep busy during the day and don’t just sit expecting people to come to me but it’s tiring and so much effort. I’ve just come to sit on a seat looking over the sea and realise I fortunate to live in a beautiful place but it makes my heart ache to hear families on the sand or couples walking hand in hand past me. I would give a lot to hold David’s warm loving hand again. That can’t happen and ltry and move forward slowly but oh what hard work it is. Bless all you folk feeling like me. I hope you have a couple of things to keep you going over the weekend.

9 Likes

Dear @Hilary55

Welcome to the Community. I am sorry to hear of the loss of your husband.

You have nothing to be nervous about coming to the forum as we have all been in your sad position.

It is very hard for people who have not lost a loved one to understand the pain and loneliness of someone who has and also people are afraid to approach talking about your loss for fear of upsetting you.

It is good to keep busy but please do be gentle with yourself at the same time. You do need time to grieve and sadly grief has no time limits. One day at a time. You will get there but at your pace.