Looking for advice / support / help - I don't know

HI

I’m new to this forum, and I’ve no idea if this is allowed or not, so please bear with me.

I know I sound totally selfish, and I hate myself for it.

My husband is dying, and I feel like my life is falling apart. He has cancer and is terminally ill. He’s 40. We’ve been together for almost 19 years. We have one daughter, who is 16. She has complex learning difficulties and is on the Autistic spectrum. She seems to be coping much better than I am at the moment, but I know that’s just a delayed reaction, and I’m trying to prepare myself for when it hits her.

I don’t really know what I’m asking for, I just feel like everything is wrong. I’m so angry - like everything revolves around Covid, and nobody gives a stuff about anything else.

3 Likes

Hi so sorry your going through this you yourself will need support with palliative care. I’m a learning disability nurse I think you right your daughter probably isn’t processing exactly what’s going on at the moment and can’t express her feelings. Please tell me if I’m wrong any changes with your daughter will be very upsetting. I can only advise you as hard as it is for you as well.
Give her clear descriptions explain if you can exactly what is happening also embrace the good times . Explain why you are sad. Maybe some counselling cognitive therapy for her. Please private message me if you want more advice
Take care of yourself and I hope you are getting the support you need
Your right Covid has taken over every thing

HI.

Thank you for your reply.

He’s in hospital at the moment, so we can’t see him. We’re on Messenger with him all day, back and forth.

I just feel like I’m getting really angry and resentful of everything and everyone.

.Thank you x

Thank you.

Yes, she processes things differently. She’s fully aware of what’s going on. We lost my husband’s dad to cancer two years ago. That was her first experience of losing someone - but this is on a whole new level.