Loosing my Mam

Hi I am new to this but I lost my mam 4 weeks ago to cancer. It was the worst day of my life and the worst 2 and a half years since her diagnosis. Nothing was ever simple she had problem after problem during treatment. We were unable to enjoy time she had left due to constantly chasing professionals about appointments and treatment that unfortunately was too late. I also have massive guilt that she messaged me telling me she felt awful and when I asked how she didn’t reply and she passed away later that night. If I had called her or went to see her could I have helped in any way. She was in hospital at the time so thought she was in safe hands. If she was at home would this have happened. We never actually got an answer to what happened as she was fine in the afternoon then had deteriorated rapidly by the night time. Doctors didn’t even know what had happened. There are so many what ifs that are driving me crazy. I miss her so much but the guilt I have is stopping me grieving. It still doesn’t feel real.

1 Like

Hi B3th,

I’m very sorry for the loss of your mum.

I lost my own dad recently and I can relate to your post as everything since dad’s diagnosis was chaotic and I feel a lot of guilt.

It is natural to think that your mother was in safe hands with the hospital. I am sure you did your best, although if you are the person who has lost a loved one it is sometimes difficult to accept that that there was nothing more you could do.