Losing an estranged child suddenly.

On October 11th I received the phone call I had been dreading for ten years.
My daughter was 33 and had been in an abusive marriage for 11 years.

My daughter had a brain haemorrhage and was on life support but brain dead.

I raised her and her brother as a single parent with little to no support.
We hadn’t spoken for ten years due to her situation and her choice.
She had two children, the youngest I had never met and the eldest I hadn’t seen for ten years. He’ll soon be 11.

I have been devastated by this. I can’t sleep, I can’t eat. I have no recent memories to comfort me. I can’t even remember the sound of her voice.

I had always lived in the hope of a reconciliation and had reached out many times over the years but she would never respond.

I’ve searched and searched for some appropriate support but can’t seem to find anything specific to my situation.

I don’t know how to begin to heal from this.

I’ve lost interest in anything that used to hold pleasure and it takes every bit of little strength I have left just to do the basics.

The grandchildren don’t know me and are so damaged and traumatised.

I don’t know where to turn.

Mimi, having just read your post my heart is bleeding for you. How traumatic and I can truly understand how you are feeling. Devastated doesn’t cover it. There are different organisations but to cover what you have been through would require three or four being put together. I think perhaps you should look at counselling, either by Sue Ryder or Cruse, both offer a free service and just being able to talk about what has gone on in the past as well more recent events may help you understand how to heal. I am hoping that by writing your post will have helped but you need more help to come to terms with the situation. Be kind to yourself and try not to blame yourself for anything. You need lots of love and re-assurance. Take care and please look after yourself, you are very vulnerable at present. S xx