Losing Dad

Hi one and all. This is my first time here. I lost my father four weeks ago. He was diagnosed with vascular dementia two years ago and finally lost his battle on the 18th of July. I went through the whole death,registration etc totally emotionally devoid. I’m an only one, so did the arrangements etc. But 4 weeks on it has hit me like a train! Do I have time off? Do I carry on? Am I weird ? I am 53 years old and live at home with mom (83₩) following 32years of marriage, ended 3 years ago

Hi.there.
This dealaed shock often happens. It happened to me. I coped with all the paperwork, did all the funrearl arrangements the, about foir weeks later it hit me, so I know what you mean.

Once again. Published as soon as I started.

As i was saying. It can hit hard later. Perhaps it’s the contrast between feeling numb then suddenly emotions arise and we feel them strongly.
As to what to do. This is very much a personal matter. Some keep at work because it can keep the mind occupied.
Weird? Well in that case we all are! There’s nothing weird about grief, well perhaps only to those who don’t know…
We can carry on bearing the pain and hoping we will feel better later. But there is no time limit to grief. It will take it’s own time and that’s why we need to accept it is so. Acceptance is not easy. How do you accept this nightmare, but it can be done.
You have come to the right place for help and understanding. Have you thought about counselling? It can be very helpful for some.Also a visit to your GP can help if they are understanding. Often they can suggest services that help bereaved people.
Take care. Hope to see you again.

1 Like

RS02
So sorry for your loss.