Losing mum when she is still alive

Hi
This is my first post and I must say I have never done anything like this before. I am currently helping to care for my parents, my mum has Alzheimer’s disease and my dad a serious respiratory disease. My mum was and still is my best friend but every day I feel I am grieving for the mum I once had. I used to be able to talk to her about anything and everything, we did everything together and I felt so close to her but now she struggles with everything which is breaking my heart every day. Her memory is failing fast, she constantly lives in the past, her character is changing and she is unable to understand even the most simplest of conversations. I feel such a sense of loss and sadness which sometimes overshadows everything that I do. I fear for the future and sometimes wish that a physical disease would take her so that she does not have to endure what she is living through. My biggest fear is that one day, and it probably wont be long, she will not be able to remember who I am and it is this thought that causes me the greatest of pain. I sometimes feel selfish because mum is 87 years old and I have been so lucky to have her for so long. I know many of you out there have lost parents at such a young age so I have no right to feel this way but I do. Does anyone have any advice as to how they cope this situation, I would be very grateful to hear your comments

1 Like

Hello @Kate110,

I’m Seaneen, and I’m part of the Online Community team. I wanted to say thank you for bravely reaching out. I’m so sorry to hear about your dad and mum. I can hear the heartbreak in your words. You are not selfish, and you are not alone.

I’m sure someone will be along to offer their support, but I wanted to share a few resources which might be helpful right now.