Losing my best friend

My best friend of 30 years died 2 weeks ago.the funeral was 2 days ago. The pain is unbearable. I feel like i cant cope without her. I have never used a forum before but I just dont feel anyone understands the level of pain, deep sadness and desperation I feel. I dont know who to talk to. I cant imagine a future without her.we shared everything in our lives - good and bad. Iam truly lost.

1 Like

CM, I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve lost your true friend. After so many years of sharing the good times and helping each other through the bad you will feel devastated now. I hope you can talk to someone to help you through this very dark time, maybe a councellor on this site could be of help.
The grief you feel will be the same as all of us here that have lost someone they love whether it be partners, family members or friends the grief is the same.
We all just try to get through each day hoping the pain will ease a little tomorrow.
I’m sorry that I can’t say anything more positive but hope you can find some help from this forum .
Xx
Xx

Thank you for taking the time to reply to me. Someone reaching out just makes me feel less alone. There are some friends I can talk to. My family don’t really get just how painful this is for me. My friend was the closest person to me in my life.we could literally talk about anything and I can’t imagine what Iam going to do with out her. I don’t have a partner and I have found that people seem to think its worse if it’s a partner or parent but there isn’t a hierarchy of the most painful loss is there? I lost my dad nearly 4 years ago & didn’t think I could be more upset than that.however I was wrong because I feel such deep pain losing my friend. Iam so grateful for your understanding and support.

You are right there is no hierarchy of pain.
It seems you were as close to your friend as many couples that have shared years together would be so why would you not feel deep grief.