Losing my Dad

A year ago come the 23rd of August I lost my Dad, something I never thought would happen for a long time.
I moved back in with my parents after my divorce as it was the only way I could financially survive & Mum & Dad insisted that I moved back home.
Last year as the covid pandemic seemed to be easing after 2 years of extreme caution all 3 of us in our house tested positive with the delta strain.
I tested positive first followed by my Mum 2 days later then Dad the next day.
I’m not vaccinated but had no problems or serious effects from it so I automatically thought as both Mum & Dad were both fully vaccinated they would be ok too.
How wrong I was, Mum was quite poorly but got over it but my Dad, it just totally wiped him out, it totally destroyed his lungs & kidneys.
Since losing my Dad I can’t even begin to explain just how much I hurt inside.
I’m a taxi driver for a living & it’s through my job that I brought covid into our home, passed it to my parents & lost my Dad because of it.
Since the day Dad died I have just a total numbness feeling, I look around & see his hat & jacket in the hall way, I see his chair in the living room where he sat, I see his golf clubs in the garage & everything.
I spend my time in his garden keeping it like he always had it so I can keep him alive but it’s not enough.
I miss him so much & so does my Mum, it hurts to see her miss him aswell.
I’m not sleeping or eating too well after nearly a year & get bad anxiety attacks even panic attacks, I also constantly worry about my Mum & how she’s feeling.
How do we move on from this, is there something wrong with me for not eating properly or sleeping.
I have never missed someone so much & I can’t see how things are ever going to get better.
Please if anyone can help me & Mum, I will be ever so grateful.

3 Likes

heartbreaking!