Losing my mum

It’s been a month since I lost my mum. I’m currently studying at university so I’m away from my family and living with housemates who didn’t know her. I’m struggling to balance everyday life, concentrate at university, while remaining strong for the people around me. My mum went to hospital for a “routine” brain operation to remove an aneurysm and there was a complication, which lead to her having a stroke and ultimately her death. I’m struggling to come to terms with this all on my own, it was very sudden and a few weeks before my 21st birthday. I feel angry at myself for being in a hurry to leave home a few days before and not messaging her on the day of her operation. I have all this love to give to my mum and I don’t know where to put it. I am lost, numb and heartbroken all at the same time.

Aww you are so young and have a lot on your plate as it is. Death really comes at unusual times. My mum died suddenly in August 7 weeks after I had my first born baby I was only 27 and feel the timing was so wrong as she was so excited to be a nan. I’ve found reading afterlife books have helped me I’ve started to read one called ‘where did you go’ which is giving me confidence this is not the end. How are your family coping? X

Hi Amy,