Lossing my mum

Hi I am new to this but I will give it a go I lost my mum 3 years ago she was 54 years old at the time when she passed away she pass away when Covid was around so I culod not say good bye I have people around me tell me when she died was get her funeral out of the way then I need to get on with my life but it is not has esay has that I was really close to my mum and I miss her so much I have got no one to talk about my mum because I have been told not to talk about because of my two kids that I have no one around me understands how it feel because they have still get they mum I just don’t know what I should feel and what I should not feel about my mum my mum is the fist person I have lost

1 Like

Im so sorry for your loss Kirsty - i lost my mum nearly 6 months ago and we were incredibly close. I simply cant imagine what it must have been like to lose your Mum and not be able to be there because of covid restrictions. :broken_heart:

When i hear that people told you to put it behind you and get on with your life, and not to talk about your mum, that makes me soooo angry! That is totally insensitive and just darn WRONG. Please don’t feel you cant talk about your Mum- whoever is telling you that my guess is they have never lost someone close to them. Please feel free to ignore their advice! You should absolutely talk about your mum, and about your feelings. If youve just had to bottle it up that does more harm in the long run. And dont your children deserve to know about their lovely Gran/Nan so that they dont forget her?

This site is full of people who’ve lost a loved one and know how hard it is to keep going every day, so keep posting here - you’re not alone. And i would also suggest do some research into whether there are any support groups in your local area for bereaved people - it can be a really useful way of meeting others in the same situation and by hearing others stories it helps you realise others are on the same journey as you :heart: