Lost both parents 4 months apart

I’m new to this but thought I’d give it a try, I my mum got diagnosed with lung cancer last may, told with treatment she had 9/12 months. So she started treatment and responded well but we knew it was terminal it was just prolonging her life. My dad passed suddenly in July so we where grieving for him and still am then in November whilst I was on holiday my mum went down hill rapidly and I didn’t make it back on time for her passing, I’m angry all the time, I push people away.im back at work but I feel lonely and miss both my parents so much it hurts every day. It will be their 59th wedding anniversary soon then my birthday then Mother’s Day, not sure I’ll cope that week as it’s the first for everything since they both passed.

> Blockquote

1 Like

Hi, I’m so sorry for your loss. I feel very similar to yourself. I lost both of my parents within 3 months of eachother and I miss them so much it hurts. I’ve put so much pressure on myself to be strong for others but now I’m really struggling. I suppose I’m still in denial, it all feels like a nightmare and each day I wake up it hits me all over again. Do you have other family around you?

I do have other family I have both brothers but they work away from home. They are also struggling and like yourself I was the strong one but now I’m starting to struggle. I have zero patience a
Box I get angry very quickly which is not like me at all, I also think I’m still in denial.
What about you?

I have 2 children who were also extremely close to my mum and dad so I’ve been focusing on them more than myself. Some people have been so supportive and yet others have surprised me and haven’t been much of a support. They say let me know when you want to catch up. That’s the problem, i dont feel like doing anything. It’s such an effort to even try and be happy. Our lives have just been turned upside down and will never be the same.