Lost Mum 8 months ago but really struggling today

Hi, This is my first time on here. I lost Mum 8 months ago and the grief today is as strong as though it was yesterday. I S

I’m sorry I disappeared before finishing writing this post. It’s hard to talk about. I was so close to my Mum and I miss her so much.
Mum had mild dementia and a physical disability so was in a nursing home. But I visited all the time and spoke to her on the phone multiple times a day. I never let anything bad happen to Mum, I watched like a hawk, I went with her to every single appointment, I made sure she had everything she needed, that she was well cared for … Then she had a fall and broke her hip but because of covid restrictions I was prevented from being with her (which I would have been 24/7), There was a delay to the op because of an error in A&E, she was in tremendous pain, when she came out of hospital she had multiple horrifying pressure sores (that would never have happened had I been there), she also had severe delirium so couldn’t communicate with the staff and they didn’t understand her. She just asked for me constantly and could not understand why I wasn’t there. But I wasn’t allowed to help her or even see her. She stopped eating. After all that she had a massive stroke and passed away. I am grateful that I was finally allowed to be with her the day she passed and was with her when she passed. But I’m not sure I will ever get over not being allowed to support her through her ordeal.
I have an amazing photo of her which I took when we went to a coffee shop, one of our favourite things to do. I look at that photo and remember the good times. I hope that eventually those will replace the horrible ones of her experience after the fall.

3 Likes

Hi

I haven’t posted on here before but I just wanted to reach out to you because your experience is somewhat similar to mine.