Lost mum and trying to cope

Hi everyone
We lost our lovely mum very suddenly and unexpectedly on NYE. She had a severe spontaneous abdominal bleed.
I feel very overwhelmed with the grief and worried about the future especially how to support my dad. They were together for 62 years and he absolutely doted on her, he’s so lost and just keeps saying he’ll die of a broken heart and selfish as it might be I just could not cope with losing him too.
Also feeling angry that the hospital could have done more and that we’re likely going to put a complaint in.
I’m currently taking time off but worried how I’ll ever feel ready to return to work. I’m an NHS mental health nurse working in a primary care setting and I get lots of referrals to support people experiencing loss and grief,I just know I’m not going to be able to support others for a while yet. I’m also feeling very let down from the very organisation I work for due to their negligence.
Feeling completely overwhelmed with everything,I knew it would hurt to lose a parent but wasn’t prepared for it to feel all consuming. I wake each day and the pain just hits me all over again. I know it’s still very early days and time will help but I just cannot see a way forward right now.
Thanks
Cazz

3 Likes

Hi @Cazz so sorry for your very recent loss. Everything will be very raw for you in these early days so please just prioritise coping in the here and now. Don’t worry about work, you’ll need time to adjust to what has happened. I can understand your fears about your Dad but all you can do is support each other as a family. Grief is so complex and even though you have professional experience, I’d imagine it is no easier. The loss of a much loved parent is devastating. My Mum died nearly a year ago and I could never have imagined how painful it would be. Be kind to yourself, take care xx

1 Like

Hi Cazz,