Lost mum loosing myself

Hi. I’ve never written on a forum before and I may prattle on a bit. A lot of context but will try to get to the point.

I’m 26 and lost my mum 14th November 2022. My mum meant so much to me as she was also my grandmother who adopted me as a baby. Growing up it was always just the 3 of us as my older ‘siblings’ were nearly 30 years older than me.

At 16 I met the love of my life we’ve been together since and married with two amazing little girls (3& 4months).

However just as we found out I was pregnant with our first baby back in 2019 dad was diagnosed with dementia. So although pregnant my mum and I started helping him out more and with a little baby I planned to help as much as I could until I had to get a job. Mum and dad were reasonably independent and other than my mum’s encyclopaedia of health issues. but as a strong stubborn woman she never let anyone or anything hold her down.

As covid and lockdowns hit dad took a downward trajectory slowly his dementia got worse and by the middle of 2021 I was having to start putting plans in place of what ifs.

As time went on and life got back to normal I noticed both my parents were slowly getting worse and needing more and more help. Which with a toddler running around it wasn’t always easy. But we managed and we got through as we always do.

In early 2022 we found out we were expecting our second baby and initially we were overjoyed by the idea of us being blessed with another baby that we could love. Unfortunately within a couple of months that bubble burst as dad was starting to get moments of anxiety or anger and for those of you who know dementia, firstly it sucks, but second they were coming from nothing. Slowly they were increasing and mum was slowly starting to worry more and more about him as she didn’t know what to do. And with her starting to have more issues she started to become more and more panicked about every little thing.