Lost my father to cancer

Hi there, apologies if this is a bit of a long read, but thank you for being here all the same.

In 2018 my dad was diagnosed with blood cancer. He went through treatment amazingly well, everything looked fantastic months ahead of schedule and doctors projected we’d have about 10 years before any further intervention would be required.
In 2020, just about a week before lockdown started, my dad had spinal cord compression, which doctors said was very unusual because his cancer markers were all fine. For context, I work as a nurse and was in contact with Covid positive patients at this time, so I made the decision not to see my dad during lockdown to ensure his safety, He received treatment for this without issue and was steadily regaining his mobility. Just before Christmas 2020, my dad had a second compression, which doctors said was extremely rare, especially considering everything still looked OK. Again, my dad had successful treatment and while he lost his mobility, he was still fighting on and was home in time for Christmas.
In February 2021, my dad had a third compression and doctors found tumours near his liver, blocking some of his inner tubes and organs, resulting in him becoming jaundiced and very unwell. We were advised that, with his type of cancer, this was practically unheard of but the doctors remained hopeful. I remember at this point crying myself to sleep, making deals in my head with whoever would listen because I think part of me knew that it wasn’t going to be OK.
They suggested surgery for stents to push open the tubes and get things moving in the right direction again. By this point, again due to Covid restrictions and wanting to keep my dad safe, I had seen him once since April 2020. I was given permission from the hospital to come down as the surgery was not without risk, we were told he might not survive the surgery. We said our goodbyes just in case, but he came through the surgery.