Lost my Mum this Christmas

Good morning all, I’m new to the Sue Ryder forum. I have just lost my beautiful Mum in the 13th December. She was 65, I am only in my 30’s. It’s been a very hard and traumatic journey. I honestly don’t feel I have started to properly grieve yet though, I’ve gone straight from caring for her each day, to her passing, to very quick funeral arrangements before Xmas day, then straight into Xmas… I have a young daughter at home (and a brilliant husband), so I kind of feel I haven’t had the option, or time to actually grieve yet. As much as I just want yo lie in bed and sob, I can’t. I have my little girl. I am lying awake at night regularly though, just thinking about her and the trauma we’ve all been through. I can’t quite believe it at the moment. I think I’m numb! Hoping everyone is going as well as can be this Christmas. Laura xx

5 Likes

Hello @Lauraj2 - I am so sorry your mum has died - that is really, really hard. You have been through a nightmare, with such a rapid change, her death and rapid arrangements for her funeral. That is a lot. A heck of a lot. You need time now to process things slowly and to feel how you feel. To let the grief out - don’t bottle it up. Maybe talk to your husband about taking your daughter out for a few hours each day or something, so you can have your time to release how you feel in private. Heading out for a walk can help. I am lucky in that I am in a ski resort and no-one can see you cry on a chairlift… Take the time that you need. Talk to your husband about how you are doing and check in with him, too and your daughter. If everyone in the house is pretending they are ok, then one person putting their hand up to say they are struggling could just be the permission everyone needs to cry openly. I am not an expert, but a friend on here who knows what grief is like. Hold tight, take that next step, have a coffee and a biscuit! x

3 Likes