My heart is breaking

I really don’t know where to start. we were told last week that my sister is at the end of her life and we may only have weeks left with her. My heart feels like it is breaking. Whilst i am able to get on with things, tiny small things are just making me burst into tears. At the moment i am studying to be a children’s nurse and i have an assignment to do and to be honest i couldn’t care less about it, i just want to be with my sister and my family. I am trying to be strong but i want to go live in a bubble and ignore uni and my assignment. i am trying loads of different things to try and get on with everyday life so i can complete my assignment but I would appreciate any tips that people may have.

Kelly-emma, sorry to hear you’re struggling at the moment. How you’ve reacted to the news about your sister is understandable. Knowing that someone you love is coming towards the end of their life is never easy, and you shouldn’t feel guilty for wanting to isolate yourself from university as a way of coping. Spending time with your sister and family, supporting each other and coming to terms with the news as best you can will naturally be more important to you at the moment.

Could you speak to someone at your university about your situation and ask for an extension? Maybe approach a tutor you have a good relationship with or speak to student services about any support they could offer.

1 Like

Kelly-Emma I’m am so sorry about your situation, I wish I could do your assignment for you. It is hard and of course you will struggle but you will also find the strength to cope with this. You need to be there with your sister and family, these times will be precious. Michelle is right speak to the university they will be able to offer you help with your assignment as well as support you. Be strong and know that we are all thinking about you.

1 Like