My mum passed away

I lost my beautiful, brave mum on Dec 28th.
My sister and I had a traumatic few weeks before she died watching her slowly fade away and trying desperately to get her out of hospital.
We did get her home eventually and she passed six days later. It’s her funeral on Monday (16th).
I feel completely traumatised and exhausted by the events of the last few weeks and feel so guilty that she spent so long in hospital, she hated it.
I look at videos I have of my mum and just can’t believe that I’m never going to see or talk to her again. I actually panic when I think about it.
I’m a nurse and I’m signed off sick until 1st Feb but the thought of going back to work fills me with dread. I can’t imagine how I can ever go back to my ‘normal’ life but I know I have to at some point.

6 Likes

Hello @Dib,

I’m so sorry to hear about your mum. We will be thinking of you on Monday and will be here for you.

I’m glad that you’ve been able to share how you are feeling here and I hope that you find the community a good source of support. Everyone here has experienced the loss of a loved one and will understand some of what you are going through.

It sounds like your mum’s final weeks were very traumatic for you and your sister. Please do reach out for further support if you feel it could help you through this. You might want to explore some of the below:

Take good care,
Seaneen

Hi Dib,
I also lost my mom on 28th Dec.
It was unexpected and I still don’t think I am fully coming to terms with it.
She is survived by myself and my twin, another brother and my dad who is 87.
Mom got rushed into hospital on 27th Dec with pneumonia and passed away less than 24hrs later.
The funeral is not until 2nd feb and so I am very anxious about the time in between.
I think because I have been arranging a lot since it happened, I haven’t had chance to think/grieve really and so now it’s all catching up.