Needing support

Hello. I’m new to this whole side of actually joining an online community to do this. I always imagined that it would be like a group session kind of thing where we sit in a circle and talk, but we are post Covid times and honestly, I’ve never done this kind of thing before. I am so new to this that it’s a surreal feeling that I’m experiencing.
I lost my mum just under two years ago. It will be two years this June. She was young. Only 60. I had been walking with my partner and our daughter, talking about my mum when half an hour later I got a call from my dad because my mum had had a heart attack and that there was nothing they could do to save her.
I got signed off for two weeks after losing her and I don’t think I fully processed the news. I live in Surrey but my parents lived in Devon. Being so many miles away I went into a kind of denial over actually losing my mum. She was still here. My brain kept making me think that there was no way she could be gone. The funeral happened and still, nothing had fully sunk in. I think it’s taken me nearly two years and an honest argument with my partner to realise that I haven’t coped at all and I haven’t done anything about how I feel about losing my mum.
I miss her every day and I feel like I have a hole in my chest that won’t close up. This has clearly affected me mentally and has affected my home life. I don’t even know where to start with trying to come to terms with her being gone. I’ve got this weird fear of life being far too fragile because she died so suddenly. I’ve got a weird fear about my own fragility and my partners and even my own daughters. It has really affected me and I’m just trying my best to reach out for support because all I want to do is cope and handle this all better than I have been.

5 Likes

Hello @Aimzgee,