"Normal" activities help

I am a semi-retired pharmacist. I work only 4 or 5 shifts a month these days. This week I worked 2 shifts back-to-back which I hadn’t done in well over a year (it gets harder to stand 9 hours straight and work as fast as you can by the back half of your 60’s). I had become aware a couple of months ago that I really look forward to my work days but only this week became fully aware of why this is true. It is because it is the only thing that I do that is completely and totally exactly the same as it was “before”. Work bears no constant reminders of my wife because it was always something that I did on my own. The only downside is that it makes coming home that much harder because cold, hard reality slaps you in the face like a Mack truck as soon as you darken the door of your empty house.
I guess my point is that we all need to find things to do every week that we can do exactly as we always have to try to find a brief respite from the changes that we are all trying to navigate.

2 Likes

I totally agree. If I do things I used to do on my own, I am fine until I return home again. It definitely gives you respite and gives your brain a break from missing them. Visiting places we used to go together is very difficult and brings back too many memories.

1 Like