On sick leave

Hello. I’m new to this, so it’s my first post. My sister died recently suddenly and unexpectedly. She was 55. I’m 54 and we were very close. We only lost our dad 8 months ago, and my mum is in a care home with dementia. I had 5 days bereavement leave from work, but just couldn’t face going back to work so my doctor gave me a two week sick note. After this I spoke to the doctor and am currently in my first week of another 2 week sick leave. I plan to go back to work after this. I am devastated at losing her. She was a huge part of my life. I’m worried about work although they have been supportive so far. I need to work, bills to pay etc. I live alone. I’m just wondering how long other people have had before returning to work? I don’t usually take time off but I feel so anxious. I also feel guilty about not going to work. I’m a bit of a mess. Any advice would be appreciated. I’ve lined up some bereavement counselling. Thank you.

1 Like

Dear Pipin1,

Sorry to hear you have had two bereavements so soon after each other and that your mum has dementia. You must miss your dad and your sister very much. Doy you have any other close family members or a good friend you can turn to for support?
It is good that your work gave you compassionate leave, and that you have signed up for counseling. It sounds like your GP is very supportive too.
Only you can decide when you feel ready to be back at work. From the many posts I have read on this site over the last 2 years, the time people take off varies from very little to many months. There is no right or wrong and decisions will depend on many factors such as people’s financial situation or the nature of their work.
For some people, going back to work helped them because it took their minds off their loss. Some people were able to have a phased return to work, to see how they got on.