Returning to work

Hi I lost my wife to Cancer at the beginning of November . I gave up work to care for her last may . In the middle of march I returned to work but I’ve been on the sick for 10 days , it started with insomnia and progressed to anxiety . I had planned to go back tomorrow but now I find myself feeling very anxious and probably wont go in . I’m really disappointed as I need to carry on and live out our dreams . Does anyone have some tips that could help ?

1 Like

Hi Condai, I’m so sorry for your loss, I haven’t any miracle cure for your problem, but I do think it is very common, I was a nurse before I retired and it was a fairly stressful job, my husband became ill a year after I retired and when he died they asked me to go back and help out, I found I could no longer cope with the stress of it, before he was ill, I never had a problem, so I’ve never gone back, but that doesn’t help you, maybe there is somebody on this site that will be able to help and point you in the right direction, sending love Jude x

Hello, I am sorry you lost your wife and find yourself needing this forum but welcome.

My husband died in October, I just used my counselling session today on this very topic.
I have been working from home since Jan and got signed off sick before that as I went totally nuts (now I can sometimes give the impression I’m not nuts at least even though in fact I still mostly am). My first advice would be to call GP tomorrow or 101 tonight to try and get signed off for longer if possible if you’re not ready or is that not an option? Did you already try prescribed anti depressants? I started a month ago and they are really helping me calm down and be less anxious. Also the counselling helps a lot, you can get this through GP too or three sessions through sue ryder.