Returning to work

My dad died suddenly two weeks ago of a heart attack. Myself and my sister were with him when he stopped breathing and i gave CPR. I am a nurse and this was my first cardiac arrest. I am returning to work soon but am really worried about it. My dads death still hasn’t really sunk in and i do feel like i am trying not to deal with his death and grieve as im not ready to lose my dad. i am having trouble sleeping as i feel his death was very traumatic, the memories of giving him CPR and seeing the paramedics trying to resuscitate him is still very raw but i keep telling myself i’m a nurse and shouldn’t be fazed by this. The patients i usually see are acutely unwell and it can be very stressful. Usually I love my job but i really dreading going back. I don’t know how i will feel with the death of a patient or if a patient has a cardiac arrest. I did feel i should return to work as i was feeling okay but i think i was still in shock and just felt numb.

2 Likes

I’m so sorry for the loss of your dad, @SRN. I’m just giving this thread a little bump for you so people who’ve logged on this morning can see it. Returning to work is a subject that has come up quite a bit with members so hopefully someone will have some thoughts to share. You may also find this support page from Cruse helpful to read: Returning to work after a bereavement - Cruse Bereavement Support

Take care,
Seaneen