Shall I go to counselling?

I have been fighting the urge to go to counselling for a few months due to being ruined by grief. I have finally plucked up the courage and come to realisation it may help me. Does any one know the best way to get started with counselling? I have signed up to NHS talk therapies but not sure the waiting time.
I think talking to someone about how I am feeling and what I am going through it may help me cope with grief better.
Has anyone done counselling before and how did you find it? I will greatly appreciate hearing about other experiences with counselling.

1 Like

Hiya. I’m a fan of counselling. But,like anything, ii isn’t a one size fits all and you need to find something that works for you. I believe that Sue Ryder do online counselling and you could contact Cruse but they have a significant waiting list. It might be worth trying bereavement groups in your area. Talking to others face to face may be good and they may be able to recommend someone. Or your GP. My work arranged counselling for me but its with the wonderful Roy who is a life coach rather than a bereavement counsellor. Seeing him has totally altered my perspective of pretty much everything and it was just what I needed. Focusing on moving forward. Which is something we all have to do whether we want to or not. Good luck, take care x

2 Likes

I have been going to a private counsellor for a few months now and I can honestly say it has helped. My Keef died just over a year ago and she has helped me talk through our relationship and all that I have to deal with now. I have lots of friends I talk to about him but have found it very helpful to speak to someone who never knew him. We were together nearly 44 years so there are lots of things I need to go over.

1 Like