She’s thrown away his things without talking to us

Hi this is my first time posting on here and I guess maybe I’m looking for some advice or someone who might have had a similar experience. I lost my beloved dad 15 months ago. I just found out last night that my mum has thrown away practically everything from his home office without talking to me and my sister first about whether we would like to keep anything. There were personal things in there that I really wanted to keep- eg old appointment diaries where he’d written in reminders to post me a birthday card. My mum didn’t see those as having any value and insists that she had to throw it all away for “data protection purposes”. But I wish she’d just thought to talk to me and my sister first - because what’s insignificant to one person can have so much sentimental value to another. since we’ve lost him, my sister and I have been really careful to respect what she wanted to do or things she wanted to keep. In fact, that’s why I didn’t just take things from his office, because I didn’t want her to feel I was taking them without asking her first. Now she’s just gone and binned them anyway and I’m so upset. I can’t talk to her about it unfortunately (though I’ve tried)- she isn’t a very empathetic person. Has anyone experienced anything similar? How did you deal with it?

Hi sorry for your loss my husband passed away January I have to say I haven’t given it a thought that my son and daughter might want any of his belongings I’m sorry if that is bad of me but it just hasn’t entered my head I just took it for granted that if there was something they wanted they would ask me for it but I will certainly make a point tomorrow of asking them please don’t be cross with your mum I’m sure like me she is not thinking straight and meant no harm take care x

Hi Oceanvillage608,