Step dad moving on

Hi all this is my first time using this……I lost my mum suddenly on 28/12/2022 so we are approaching 1 year anniversary. And our first Christmas without her.
My stepdad and Mum were together for 40 years and he was broken when she passed. He is 73 years old. Mum was just 61.
My stepdad has joked often about finding someone else, missing female company. He is from south london and I know he struggles to talk about feelings.
Recently he has met a ‘friend’ but it’s clear it’s becoming more. I explained to him that I do understand he is lonely and I wouldn’t want him to live the rest the of his life being sad and lonely but I just can’t get my head around him being with someone else so soon, and I feel as it if makes a mockery of his 40 years with my Mum. As if it meant nothing.
He has called me today and is popping round as he said things are getting serious and he wants to update me. He has told my sister he is going shopping to buy this woman a Xmas present when for years he never did that for my Mum.
I feel so torn. I know he is broken from losing my Mum and probably needs companionship but I just can’t accept this new person.
My husband said he thinks he wants my approval but I don’t feel able to do this. I feel so torn between knowing she is maybe what he needs but not being able to handle it myself.

Has anyone else been in this situation?