Still feels unreal

My husband died 8 weeks ago, at the age of 53, and I still can’t quite believe that I’ll never see him again. My heart aches every time I remember. I’m a teacher and when I opened presents from children at school today, the first thing I thought was that I would show him, then realised I couldn’t. The school holidays start at the weekend and it’s going to be awful.

5 Likes

I’m so sorry that you lost your husband so young and I understand that the holidays looming will be a hard time for you.
I lost my husband aged 56 4 months ago (I’m 52) and we have 4 kids similar ages : 24,21,19 & 16.
Our school holidays started 2 weeks ago and normally we would be away then and return at the weekend just past. Needless to say we haven’t been away as our hearts aren’t in it and it was his birthday last Friday so the recent days have been really tough for us all.
Take some time for yourself to grieve over the holidays - you have been amazing to get back to work ( I haven’t yet)
It’s hard to be in this awful place but lean on those around for support, and post here - it’s really supportive and everyone understands. Look after yourself and be kind. Sadly I don’t have anything to offer that will take the pain and sadness away.
Sending some strength and a hug xx

3 Likes

Hi Nel

So sorry for your loss. When my Mum whom I had nursed for 7 months died after her funeral I drove back home 500 miles and the first thing I did was ring her to tell her I was back home safe and for a few rings I was actually surprised she didn’t pick up! Grief turns us upside down, inside out then does it again and again. I believe that in time we will heal but that process can’t be rushed. Your world right now is an unfamiliar, unsafe one. Take care of yourself and know that people on here do know how you are feeling. So please keep posting. Sending you love and hugs. Xx

2 Likes

Hi Roni