Sudden loss of my Nan

Hi all

I am new here. and I’d like to share my story.

This is my first time of dealing with a bereavement.

I lost my Nan to cancer in April after an extremely short diagnosis. This was something unexpected and has completely thrown me and my family in to a very lonely and dark life without her.

I was very close to Nan, I saw her everyday as she had recently moved around the corner from me. It was something she had longed to have, a nice little bungalow with her dog. Things seemed to be going so well and I’d never of imagined sitting here writing this now.

She started to suffer with back pain that wouldn’t ease, she suffered with Fibromyalgia and this would cause parts of her body to ache so we just put it down to that. However other symptoms started to develop, loss of appetite, loss of interest of everyday things. She had an appointment with her GP and they told her she did not look well and that they wanted to run further tests, one of which was a blood test which had shown raised levels in her liver, she had been diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes in June 2020, again we assumed it could be linked. The next day she received a couple of letters, one of which was a pathway referral to rule out cancer(s) so we had some clarity what they were looking for but at the time, Nan told us she wasn’t worried and nor should any of us be.

Days started to pass and there was rapid decline in her so I decided enough was enough and called for an ambulance. When the paramedics showed up, they did usual checks and checked her blood pressure which the results had alarmed them as they were extremely low but said they would check them at the end of the examination to see if any change.