unsure about bereavement counselling

hi,

I lost my mum in may from breast cancer. Her death was very traumatic, sudden and brutal for me. I immediately wanted to get into counselling/therapy as I thought it would really help me through everything. I self referred myself to the free nhs service as I’m a 20 year old student and can’t really afford to pay for therapy. However a local clinic near me offered a reduced price and I have been seeing one of the counsellors there since may and she has been absolutely invaluable to me and helped me so much with even more issues than my bereavement. I was grateful because the nhs service had a very long waiting list and I needed treatment as soon as possible.

Cut to now and the nhs has just got back to me 4 months later. They’re offering me phone call sessions from St Christopher’s hospice which is where mum spent her final days. At first I was reluctant because I have actually been doing okay or as okay as you can be without mum now, I’ve been thinking more positively and have not been as low as I thought I would be. But I also didn’t want to turn down any support because I’m constantly thinking of the ‘what ifs’ like what if a month from now it all hits me and I crumble and then I would have turned down this support so I kind of just went along with it. Now they’re waiting for me to set up dates for sessions and I can’t bring myself to do it.

Now I have become a university student too and am quite busy with my studies. I really enjoy my course and have a much more positive outlook now. I’m scared that if I start a new strand of bereavement counselling specifically about mum that it will bring back a lot of sadness and trauma. But as I said I don’t want to turn down support in case one day I need it and have to go on another waiting list.