When to stop grieving and start living again?

Hello I feel I have been grieving for nearly 2 years since my mum was diagnosed and sadly passed away. I am so tired of feeling sad, scared and joyless and I want to be me again without the fear of losing another loved one. I really really miss her but I can’t go on like this anymore. I want to look at photos not can’t and can’t talk about her. I just want to get on with my life for once, has anyone else felt/feeling this?

1 Like

Hi Paula

It’s 3 and a half years next week since my mum suddenly died and this is definitely the first year that I’ve started to enjoy life again and feel a bit more like my old self.

It takes time and 2 years is still a short time. I still miss my mum dreadfully and I still can’t have any photos around or even bear to look at them, so that aspect hasn’t changed. I still can’t even really talk about her either without getting upset. So I don’t think what you’re feeling is unusual at all.

The void never goes but the rawness of it all does fade.

Cheryl

4 Likes

Hello Cheryl thank you makes me feel a little bit better I’m not the only one. I have still kept the photo away and I can’t talk about her to do with anything because it hurts. That’s what I want to feel my old self. My family really want me back. I wake up and it’s the first thought which doesn’t help my mornings. Just so hard.

1 Like

Absolutely, I’m meant to be doing job applications rn but just paralysed with grief. I’m going to start now, because that’s what he would have wanted - for me to focus on myself and my happiness and live my life well. I find it easier on days like this to live for the ones I’ve lost

2 Likes