When will it feel right to go back to work?

My mum suddenly passed away on Christmas day 2016. She was only 48. She had a subarachnoid haemorrhage, due a genetic condition that I have too (that worry is a whole other post!).
All the things that have been keeping me busy have now slowed down and I’m left feeling a huge gap in my life and I’m tearful more often than I’m not these last few days.
I am dreading going back to work. Terrified of not enjoying my job anymore or messing up. I’m a nurse and my mum was a nurse also, my role model. I am so scared of letting her down. I am studying anaesthetics at university too so I feel like there is too much pressure to go back to but I don’t want to give up. I want to get my act together and go back to work but I’m not ready and fear I never will be.
Also, does anyone else feel like they are stuck in a time warp at the point when their loved one left? I keep thinking it is still Christmas. I miss her so much and just wish she was here to advise me like she used to on work things.

1 Like

Hi KJE91,

I’m so sorry to hear about your mum passing away. It sounds as though it was very sudden and it must have been a huge shock.

While you wait for replies to this post, you might be interested to have a read of this conversation from a little while back, where people discussed the issue of going back to work: https://support.sueryder.org/community/life-after-bereavement/going-back-work

Feel free to add a reply there, or in any other conversation you would like to join in with.

2 Likes

Hi KJE91,