When will it stop hurting so much?

It’s been a year since my son died in my arms and I thought I was getting stronger. Tonight it feels like it had just happened and I can’t stop crying. It just hurts as much as the night it happened.

Hi. Stephanie. Since there has been no response yet to your post I hope you won’t mind me answering. I rarely respond to’ losing a child’ posts because I have no experience of it and I can only imagine the pain.
A year is not long. Memories don’t often die down that quickly. The mind can play some awful tricks with memory. There is no way we can stop it occurring, so can you accept the feelings and emotions as normal in the circumstances? The emotions of grief vary so much from person to person.
You are getting stronger so take this time as a ‘blip’ in your recovery. It’s a setback. Of course you will never forget, but some little peace may come to you if you accept how you feel. Take care and Blessings to you.

1 Like

My daughter died suddenly almost two years ago and things are getting easier. I do not spend my days crying and feeling there was nothing worth living for. I still miss her and have the occasional cry. At night when I go to bed I look for a star and I tell it about my day, as if I was chatting to my daughter. I had a photo of her etched onto a pendant necklace and I feel closer to her wearing it. Things will get easier, you will find that you are remembering good times more than that dreadful day. My thoughts are with you.

Firstly and more importantly I send my condolences to you.
They say time heals and I have four children of my own and the very thought of losing a child is devastating.
In time your pain will slowly numb.
My advice to you is that everyone is different and there is no time to say ok it is time to stop grieving as it is personal.
But all I can advise is that you take each day as it comes until the pain eases. And one day it will.