Xmas is coming!!

Only 87 days to go, and what shall I do when it gets here!
If you’ve seen my posts last year, you will know that instead of dreading Xmas alone, without my wife Penny,I decided to use it to celebrate the 49 Xmasses we spent together.
Last year I went for a nice trek into the local Peak District, talking to her all the time I was there, followed by popping in to one of the country pubs. This turned out to be a lovely day, except that the pub was only doing pre-booked Xmas dinners only, so I had a bag of crisps.
What shall I do this Xmas?
I’ve asked people again not to invite me for dinner, because Penny won’t be there and I’ll miss her.
I’ve already decided that, whatever I do, I’ll be back home for an Indian Banquet, I’ve never done that before!!
The morning might turn out to be another trek, but I’d like to have ideas for something totally different!!
I’ll probably be laid out asleep on the settee for the afternoon.
So any ideas welcome!

2 Likes

N died 3 days before Christmas, so technically I’ve had my ‘first Christmas’ but that time was such a blur.
I considered keeping to myself this year, but my brother and his family are visiting my mum, so I’m going to invite them all for Christmas day lunch.
It’ll be chaos, but better than the alternative…
N and I said a few times that we’d volunteer with a local charity to help cook and serve a Christmas lunch… maybe you could do that?

1 Like

Thanks @Scubadolly , I’ll look at that option.

2 Likes

Or just go away @tykey. I go away for the whole Christmas week, usually to a holiday cottage in West Wales. Walks along the coastal path are quite exhilarating at that time of year and the solitude can be liberating. Just me and my man in my heart. :heart:

3 Likes