Anniversaries? Time for something new.

The anniversaries of my wife and I come thick and fast. March was her Birthday, this month is when she went, next month is our anniversary.
It’s taken a while to work out how to cope with them, but it’s finally come clear.
On each occasion, I’ll do something new, which I know will be challenging, and I’ve never done before.
Last month, I struggled up to the top of Mam Tor ( a very big hill) in the rain , where I’d asked her to meet me. That was a great day for me.
This month, I suddenly decided at bedtime that I would like to play the flute!! I’ve never played a wind instrument, other than a cazoo and that doesn’t count! I asked on our local Facebook group if anyone can help, and got a quick reply from a flute teacher who remarkably only lives up the road, and by 10am I’d booked my first lesson this Thursday. It will either be a great success or an abject failure, but I’m sure I’ll be proud of myself for trying, as I hope Penny will be as well!
Next month, I need another challenge to try for her (and me!).
Any ideas?

8 Likes

Good for you. I love your posts, you are an inspiration! Thankyou.

1 Like

Thanks @Arvia. Have I inspired you to do something as well. ?
Penny died two years ago when I was 74, so I guess (hope) that I’ve got another 10 years in the tank. I figured that there’s a reasonable chance I’ll finish up in a care home, sitting in a chair looking back at my life.
I decided I would then want to look back at those last years, hoping I had made the most of them, and had no regrets that I had wasted them. I only have one chance

4 Likes

@tykey What a fantastic idea. Good luck with your flute lesson.

Wether anyone feels they have ten years in their tank or two your positive attitude is an inspiration and the idea of doing something new for both of you is wonderful.

1 Like

That’s amazing!

:yellow_heart:

Mam Tor is a decent ascent - I went up it some years ago.