Eating alone

There is something horribly sad and lonely about eating alone. My husband was the cook so I can’t really do anything but assemble a meal but sitting at the table on my own and looking at his empty chair is just sad beyond belief.

17 Likes

You’re so right. I haven’t used the table since I lost Alan. I’ve even bought one of those tray / cushion hybrids so I can eat sitting on the sofa! What’s worse is that the gorgeous Alan was a chef ( what a dream; a handsome guy who can cook!!!) and I am absolutely hopeless in the kitchen. I’m good at burning saucepans but that’s about it. When we’ve been on holiday and seen people dining alone I’ve always had so much respect for them and thought ‘how brave’. I never thought it would be me. X

4 Likes

Well my husband wasn’t a chef by trade but he was an amazing cook and did all of the cooking. I’m the same as you can’t cook but also hate it too! Totally agree re seeing people eating alone in restaurants and of course it’s even harder for women even in 2024 try going into a pub on your own!

2 Likes

One trick is to take laptop plug it in and looks like you are working. Write poetry Also sketch people use menu as screen. It isn’t that bad dining alone. I had to when I was at work. Driving somewhere if you don’t you don’t eat.

1 Like

At first I sat at the table like we always have done but burst into tears every meal time and couldn’t eat my food,now I have it on my knee In front of the tv it’s the only way I can cope.

2 Likes

I can resonate with you eating alone is so sad and lonely I now eat out of one plate on my lap - only to survive ever since my angel passed away almost 9 months ago. I exist day to day with no hope and purpose in life - just float along, life is no longer meaningful :broken_heart:.

6 Likes

Yes eating alone. I too cant sit at table. I did for Christmas and set a place for him as i spent Christmas on my own.
Since then cant sit at table just have meals on a tray in front of tv.