Has anyone out there found a new hobby that’s a good means of distraction?

I’d love to find a new hobby that I could totally absorb myself in and would prove to be a good distraction. Any ideas welcome.

1 Like

I do needlefelt is this something you could be interested in

6 Likes

After John died, I did online sudoku in the evenings, obsessively. Not a hobby, but it got me through until bedtime and stopped me thinking. Now I do online word puzzles if I have periods of inactivity, and they are a great temporary distraction. So is Duolingo, learning a new language.

4 Likes

Ahh they are cute. I do a lot of crafting but not tried needle felting yet. I might give it a go. Thank you.

1 Like

Thank you. I do a sudoku and a crossword every morning before I get up as well as writing in my journal, but I’ve done that for about 15 years now lol
I do lots of crafts and some genealogy but am looking for something different that I’ve never done before. I was going to try and learn to play the piano but couldn’t find a teacher in my area.
I’ll keep thinking.

1 Like

Maybe it’s not a hobby as such, but I’m also using Duolingo to learn a new language. It’s built like a game where you level up and earn stars etc. It can distract me pretty well when I get into it and it’s free if you are ok with ads.

2 Likes

I’ve had a couple of singing lessons, just me with the teacher in her studio. It was fun and uplifting. I did pay for another 3, but need to book them in.
Yeah, Duolingo is very good. I speak German but rusty so I’m improving. Also learning Italian at the same time, (on my phone).

Oh yes. I tried learning Spanish on that years ago. That’s a good idea. Thanks

1 Like

I have joined a choir recently, but I’m not the best at singing…… maybe lessons would be a good idea. Thank you

It was photography for me:
Makes you go outside.
Makes you look at things differently.
Doesn’t need to be expensive.
There are some free basic on line courses.