I just want my Mum back

I lost my Mum 6 weeks ago and am still struggling to come to terms with the reality. I’m a nurse and having worked in a critical care area I am no stranger to death, but now I am on the other side I’m finding it hard. I stayed overnight with her before she died and I will treasure our alone time and conversation. However she told me that she didn’t want to die and would I go with her, I am finding that very difficult. I said I would, but not yet (I’m only 50! ) so she said she would wait for me. I haven’t been able to tell my dad this as I know it would break him and he is already lost without his amazing wife.
The week after mums funeral, my eldest brother got married and without her being there I just couldn’t bring myself to enjoy the day.
This week I returned to work, and although my husband has been very supportive, I think he now feels “it’s all over” and I should be normal again. How do I explain I will never be normal without my mum

10 Likes

Hello @Loveyoutoo ,

I’m part of the Online Community team and I can see that you are new to the community - I’d like to thank you for bravely starting this thread and sharing how you are feeling. I’m so sorry to hear about your mum. Most community members have sadly experienced the death of a loved one and so will understand some of what you are going through.

I’m sure someone will be along to offer their support. In the meantime, you may wish to look at these Sue Ryder resources which might be helpful.

I really hope you find the community helpful and a good source of support and I also hope you feel you can access more support should you need it.

Thank you again for sharing – please keep reaching out and know that you are not alone.

Take care,

Alex

Oh darling… partners who haven’t been through it or aren’t close with their family will never understand the loss… all you can do is communicate how you feel and do it often… dont let them think that an “ok day” means that you’re fine…