Introduction to me.

Hi my name is John I’m 66 years old and lost my wife two months ago to cancer after a 3 year fight. It’s very hard I miss her so much.
Don’t want to be sad as we had 40 years of a brilliant loving marriage. I have two lovely grown up supportive daughters and four grandkids. I have so much but I have lost the person that held us all together. It’s so hard. Time will heal I know but. I feel so lonely.

2 Likes

John,
Sorry for your loss. Hopefully being on here will make you feel a little better

Thanks. I’m just filling in time I think keeping myself busy and active. Letting the grieving process take its course. I’m realistic. But the magnitude of the upset is huge, but then I feel ashamed and think about how my wife felt for the last few years knowing she was going to die.

1 Like

You have no need to feel ashamed. Easier said than done I know but again, it’s one of the stages of grief I think. I’m not a professional in anyway but we all have our own way we deal with it

Hi John
So sorry for your loss. My husband of 52 years died in January after a 2 year battle with cancer.
He suffered so much during the last six months of his life it was very hard to bear. At first I was just so glad that he was no longer in pain but after a few weeks I missed him so badly I just wanted him back with me. And like you I felt terrible as he really had no quality of life towards the end. I have just gone back to my work today to try an pick up the threads of life, although it will never be the same we had many years together and reading some other posts where people have died very suddenly and relatively young leaving young families I try to focus on the many years we had together.

1 Like

Annabelle,
Sorry for your loss especially after so many years. Don’t think we ever get over loss, we just try to deal with it the best way possible x