Missing my Dad

It’s been just over 2 months since my Dad left this world, and I’m still struggling to carry on with life.
I would never take my own life (that would just be passing on more grief to my family) but at the same time I don’t want to carry on with life either. It’s a horrible position to be stuck in, and one sometimes overwhelming.
I’ve been visiting this site for 2 months now, I’m truly forever grateful to all of you, for sharing your own personal journeys and experiences of grief. It felt strange at first reading other people’s stories of loss, I actually thought I was weird for literally seeking out others who have too lost a loved one. However after reading many posts on here, I realised that I’m not suffering alone, and as hard it seems to accept, death walks hand in hand with life. I sincerely hope that as time passes by my pain eases not just for me, but anybody going through this god awful process.
My Dad was 56yrs old, I honestly thought I would be in my 60’s before I had to say goodbye (I’m 35). I hate seeing my mum and younger siblings suffering, it’s like an extra pain on top of grieving my Dad, luckily we are a close family and help each other as much as possible. It just seem so hard to create a new normal, it’s as if we are just pretending until Dad comes home.
Thanks for listening, Liam

6 Likes

Hello, I understand completely how you feel. I couldn’t let my children feel as I do if I were to go but I too find this life impossible. Every day seems to get worse and on top of my grief, I have to see what it is doing to my Mum who cannot live without her husband. I cannot live without my Dad. He was our strength, our guide, our support. We have all fallen to pieces. He left us suddenly and none of us expected this. It all feels so wrong. I used to have faith but not any more.
I have no idea how I will face the funeral. People may laugh but I am considering wearing a blindfold. I can’t bear to see the box - I can’t even type the word.