My darling wife.

I am 90 years old and I lost my darling wife of 50 years to pancreatic cancer three months ago. I now live alone in total despair and cry for her all the time. I am new to Sue Ryder Online and hope you will forgive an old man for confessing his inability to cope with his loss?

8 Likes

PC is such a cruel way to go isn’t it Tillwemeetagain. My wife died 5 weeks after her diagnosis and now well meaning folk tell me to remember all the wonderful times we had together and to be happy for them. It sounds a good idea but any happy pictures I conjure up of my dear wife are immediately swamped out by images of her dying as I held her. The day before she died she looked at me and whispered that one of us had to go first, I wished it had been me but then she would have had to go through this hell instead and I wouldn’t want that. I am so very sorry that you are having to go through the same thing. I have no family, its just me and our beagle living in a house that has had all the life sucked out of it. I wish you the strength that I am so far failing to find for myself. We weep together.

2 Likes

So sorry both of you ,I didn’t have your length of service as married for 25 years ,totally get your upset only 13 weeks down the road ,it can only get better I hope ,always going to miss Eileen .

2 Likes

Hello Peter.
I am sorry for your loss and I am so glad you found this site because I am sure it will help you As tillwemeetagain says, age has nothing much to do with it, so don’t think you are too old.
I lost my husband three months ago too after 57 years of knowing him and 54 years married and I feel just like you. It is the price we pay for such love.
Please try to keep going for your wife’s sake. It is natural to be desperately sad but I am sure your wife would not want you to be in such dreadful despair.
We are here for you, so please write as often as you like.
Hugs, Ann x

3 Likes