My wife passed away a few weeks ago

Hello. My wife and I were married almist 45 years. She was a nurse, I am a retired teacher. She was awaiting a second hip replacement. Sadky, she passed away in intensive care a few days before she had a pre assessment appointment for surgery.

Hi Malcolm, I’m so sorry for your loss, you must miss her terribly, at the moment you will be kept busy with all the things that need to be done at this sad time, I’m hoping you have family to support you, it’s early days, you will never stop missing her but in time you will be able to start living your life again, just take one day at a time and accept all help offered, sending love xx

1 Like

Hi. There. I am so very sorry for you loss. My wife died 21 months ago and I still feel the loss. But as Jude says, it does get better in time. Now at the moment that may seem like nonsense to you. The initial pain and shock is still with you. You have suffered about the worse form of trauma any human can have. It’s good you are here among folk who understand and care. This site was a Godsend to me and many others. I was very hesitant to come on here at first because so many said ‘it will depress you’ How wrong can you get!! It uplifted me at a time when I needed it badly.
I got so fed up with well intentioned people who came out with all the old platitudes and cliches. A day at a time still applies and is always helpful. Looking ahead at the moment is not wise. Give yourself time and the space to mourn. It is a process we go through, a painful and at times an almost unbearable process. But on here you will find many who have survived the ordeal and have remained to help others.
Take care of yourself. And please come back whenever the need to unload arises. John.

3 Likes

Hello Malc,
I am new to this as well. Married 44 years until june and am pretty desperate. I cant say much I’m afraid at the moment but I have found the people on here are fantastic. You, and I, are not alone. Keep posting. Jim