Panic and anxiety - is this normal?

Hello,

This is my first time here.

My partner died very suddenly and unexpectedly (and publicly!) last October. He was in his mid-50s and seemingly very fit and well.

I seemed to manage OK immediately following his death - surprisingly so. But things started to go very wrong a few months’ later when I tried to get back to ‘normal’ life. I’ve been struggling with my mental health and have been unable to work since then.

The main and debilitating feelings are extreme anxiety (like a permanent panic attack), terror and dread, and of feeling unsafe and untethered - like there’s no firm ground underneath me.

People talk about waves of grief (which I interpret as intense sadness and loss) hitting them but I don’t get this - it’s the panic and terror instead.

It would be helpful to know if anyone else has experienced this? Is it normal?

Thank you

5 Likes

Hi .im so sorry for you’re loss.i can understand the painc and anxiety. I lost my dad in February…ive been having increased anxiety and having panic attacks also.i had one a day ago… this has become regular since my dad died …i have a few things that help to calm me …i read that its common to experience these feelings…sending love to you

Thanks so much for sharing that xbabbear19x.

I’m so sorry for your loss, too. Can I ask what helps to calm you?

Hi Goldgknch.
It is 4 yrs in Sept since my precious husband died. I was a retail Manager and extremely creative and confident. Since Ron died I feel as though all my coping skills have been thrown out of the window. Even things like mowing the lawn or renewing my car insurance have become massive issues. I wake up in a panic thinking about the strangest things and I can’t seem to motivate myself anymore to do anything. It is as though everything is in slow motion
Things do not not seem as important once I am up and about and Ihave to tackle one thing at a time which takes three times longer than it used to.